Citrus Jelly with Ginger and Honey

Have you heard about the Tigress Can Jam? I decided to participate and am really excited about it. The ingredient for January was citrus and I’ve been getting a steady stream of citrus filled boxes from my in-laws who live in California. I knew this week a box of meyer lemons was coming and I had every intention to turn them into marmalade. Well, as sometimes happens, life got in the way and marmalade is a somewhat tedious process what with all the zesting and de-pithing of the fruit. So, I looked through my books and came across a recipe for this citrus jelly with ginger. I already had fresh lemon juice in the fridge from a previous box of lemons but I will admit the lime juice was from the store.

9 :: 365

DATE: 01/22/2010
FRUIT: lemons, juiced to make 0.5 cups
SOURCE: my in-laws
COST: $0
RECIPE:

Combine in a large pot:
– 0.50 cup lemon juice
– 0.25 cup lime juice
– 2.25 cup honey (I used local)
Bring to a boil over high heat.
Stir in:
– 3 TB minced crystallized ginger
Return to a boil.
Stir in:
– 3 oz liquid pectin (1 packet)
Return to a boil and boil for exactly one minute.
Remove from heat.
Allow to cool for just a few minutes, stirring to evenly distribute the ginger.
Ladle into sterilized jars (hal-pints or smaller) and process in a hot-water bath for 5 minutes.

YIELD: 7 quarter-pints with a bit leftover in the pot
TASTE: yummy, though not as gingery as I expected. It might ginger up though after a week or so.

8 Comments »

  1. Libby said

    I love ginger and this sounds great! Do the pieces of crystallized ginger suspend prettily in the jars?

  2. Marisa said

    This is the same recipe I made for the can jam, though I added more ginger and dubbed it “cold-soother” jelly, because it tastes the way I wish cough drops did. (My minor variations are documented here: http://seasonal-menus.blogspot.com/2010/01/cold-soother-jelly.html)

  3. […] jelly with ginger and honey : 7 quarter-pints carrot whiskey jam : 3 […]

  4. […] jelly with ginger and honey : 7 quarter-pints carrot whiskey jam : 3 half-pints marmalade with rosemary : 2 half-pints pickled garlic : 9 […]

  5. […] jelly with ginger and honey : 7 quarter-pints carrot whiskey jam : 3 half-pints marmalade with rosemary : 2 half-pints pickled garlic : 7 […]

  6. […] jelly with ginger and honey : 7 quarter-pints carrot whiskey jam : 3 half-pints marmalade with rosemary : 2 half-pints pickled garlic : 6 […]

  7. […] jelly with ginger and honey : 7 quarter-pints carrot whiskey jam : 3 half-pints marmalade with rosemary : 2 half-pints pickled garlic : 5 […]

  8. […] jelly with ginger and honey : 7 quarter-pints carrot whiskey jam : 3 half-pints marmalade with rosemary : 2 half-pints pickled garlic : 5 […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

