Stawberry Rhubarb Compote

So the can jam challenge for the month of May was asparagus or rhubarb. OR being the operative word there. I really wanted to make some kind of rhubarb syrup to add to perrier over the summer but I couldn’t figure out the recipe. Turns out the tigress herself made some so if I can get my hands on some more rhubarb I will be using her recipe in the upcoming weeks.

But for the can jam I decided to make a strawberry and rhubarb concoction to serve over ice cream. Last year, the lovelies over at Doris and Jilly Cook concocted a strawberry and rhubarb compote that looked like a good place to start. I kept the star anise that they used because yum! but I also added some vanilla. I also decreased the rhubarb and upped the strawberries. Lastly, I decreased the sugar because I wanted the pucker to contrast nicely with the vanilla bean ice cream.

135 :: 365

DATE: 05/15/2010
FRUIT: 2 bunches of rhubarb, a little more than a quart of strawberries
SOURCE: the rhubarb was from our CSA farm, the strawberries were from the farmer’s market
COST: $12.37
RECIPE:

in a pot combine:
1 lb rhubarb, chopped
3 c strawberries, chopped
1/2 c sugar
1/4 c oj
1 T orange zest
1 star anise
1 t vanilla

Bring to a boil and then lower to a simmer.
Simmer for about 30 minutes to an hour or until the consistency you want. You want the rhubarb to break down.
Hot-pack in sterilized jars — half-pint or quarter-pint — and process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

YIELD: 7 quarter-pints
TASTE: puckerlicious

4 Comments »

  1. So glad you liked it! And of course the joke is that I made exactly the same thing for the canjam. It’s as if somewhere, deep in my bones, I know that the third week of May is for making strawberry rhubarb compote.

    It didn’t last long in my pantry, either.

  2. […] : 6 three-quarter pints strawberry-rhubarb jam : 6 half-pints strawberrry-rhubarb compote : 7 quarter-pints strawberry jam : 10 […]

  3. […] : 5 three-quarter pints strawberry-rhubarb jam : 6 half-pints strawberrry-rhubarb compote : 7 quarter-pints strawberry jam : 10 half-pints cherry pie filling : 9 quarts cherry jelly : 14 half-pints blueberry […]

  4. […] : 5 three-quarter pints strawberry-rhubarb jam : 6 half-pints strawberrry-rhubarb compote : 7 quarter-pints strawberry jam : 10 half-pints cherry pie filling : 9 quarts cherry jelly : 14 half-pints blueberry […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

