Blueberry Butter

Slow Cooking

Hey Marisa! I see your goldenrod crockpot and raise you an avocado crockpot and a permanently stained wooden spoon. Seriously though, I saw this recipe about a week ago and thought it would be perfect for the blueberries we got in our CSA share last week. We got a quart and I bought a few more pints to get to the eight cups I needed. We ate a bunch of the blueberries so yesterday when I pureed the fruit I had exactly eight cups of puree with not a berry to spare. I procured the ancient slow cooker from my parent’s basement — my mom is using the opportunity to remind my father that there is a reason they should save everything — and after a bit of dusting off it was ready to go. My butter cooked on low for close to 12 hours because I just didn’t get to process it before we had guests arrive for dinner. It turned out beautifully even with the longer cooking time.

Blueberry Butter

DATE: 07/03/2010
FRUIT: 8 cups blueberries
SOURCE: from our CSA farm
COST: $12
RECIPE: Slow Cooker Blueberry Butter from Marisa at Food in Jars
YIELD: 7 half-pints
TASTE: delicious

5 Comments »

  1. Lise said

    Wow. WOW! I’m so glad to have found this blog! Thanks for all the links to recipes, and the tempting photos… A treat to get such detail about what you’re putting by.

  2. […] some jam, some preserves, some fruit leather, but first up was butter. I used Marisa‘s recipe again just using 8 cups of pureed apricots instead of blueberries. The smell in the crockpot was heavenly […]

  3. […] jam : 10 half-pints cherry pie filling : 9 quarts cherry jelly : 14 half-pints blueberry butter : 7 half-pints blue + black jam : 1 pint, 5 half-pints hot dog relish : 7 half-pints blackberry syrup : 1 […]

  4. […] jam : 10 half-pints cherry pie filling : 9 quarts cherry jelly : 14 half-pints blueberry butter : 7 half-pints blue + black jam : 1 pint, 5 half-pints hot dog relish : 7 half-pints blackberry syrup : 1 […]

  5. […] and jam is better on toast. Last year though I was intrigued by Marisa‘s blueberry butter and gave it a go, making https://puttingby.wordpress.com/2010/07/27/apricot-butter/ and peach butters later in the […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

