Blue+Black Jam

I’ve started to think I need better names for my jams. I mean Razzleberry Jam sounds so much more fun than Raspberry-Blackberry Jam. Plus, it’s much easier to put on a label. So, with that in mind I present 2010’s Blue+Black Jam. I think I’ve mixed up the blueberries and blackberries before but I can’t remember when. I was talking with my buddy Melissa last week about the combo and it reminded me I should make some. I used a pint and a half of blueberries and about the same amount of blackberries, enough to make 4.5 cups of crushed fruit.

*

DATE: 07/17/2010
FRUIT: 1.5 pints each of blueberries and blackberries
SOURCE: blueberries from our CSA farm and the blackberries from a local farm
COST: $10
RECIPE: 4.5 cups crushed fruit, 5.5 cups sugar, 1 box pectin
YIELD: 5 half-pints, 1 pint, and about a quarter-pint in the fridge
TASTE: delicious

5 Comments »

  1. melissa said

    did I tell you I got 12 half pints? crazy. I only have 2 jars of mixed fruit jam from last year. still have the fruit to make more with in the freezer.

  2. jyll said

    I am reading this post with wide eyes, because I, too, made black & blueberry jam on 7/17/2010. I named it Bruiser (black+blue=bruise) because I, too, think my jams and jellies need clever monikers. I’m going to include the link to my infant blog (canning-capades is post #2) so you can see it in progress from sterilized jars to canned jam. Great minds, right?!

  3. […] taste. I haven’t made blackberry jam in quite a few years. I’ve already canned up some blue+black jam and I’m planning to make razzleberry jam again this year because it is sooooooo good but I […]

  4. […] 9 quarts cherry jelly : 14 half-pints blueberry butter : 7 half-pints blue + black jam : 1 pint, 5 half-pints hot dog relish : 7 half-pints blackberry syrup : 1 half-pint apricot butter : 7 half-pints […]

  5. […] 9 quarts cherry jelly : 14 half-pints blueberry butter : 7 half-pints blue + black jam : 1 pint, 5 half-pints hot dog relish : 7 half-pints blackberry syrup : 1 half-pint apricot butter : 7 half-pints […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

