Hot Dog Relish

Relish

When I saw the ingredient for the can jam this month I must admit, my heart sank a little. Pickled cucurbits and I have a rocky past. Sometimes they’re moldy, sometimes they’re way too vinegary, they’re never great. Last year’s pickles are in the vinegar camp so we’ve been chopping them to use as relish. And then I read somewhere that someone — links would be helpful here, don’t you think? — is making mustard, ketchup, and relish for Christmas gifts. What a great idea. So this year I’m making hot dog relish too and I hope to tackle the pickles after the Tigress posts her cucurbit round-up.

Relish - Canned

DATE: 07/23/2010
FRUIT: cucumbers, onions, peppers
SOURCE: farmer’s market and our vegetable garden
RECIPE: from the book Pickles and Relishes

Combine 4 cups chopped cucumbers, 2 cups chopped onions, 1 chopped green pepper, and 1 chopped red pepper in a large bowl.
Sprinkle with .25 cup pickling salt and cover with cold water.
Let stand for 2 hours and then drain thoroughly, pressing out the excess liquid.
In a large pot, combine 3.5 cups sugar, 2 cups cider vinegar, 1 Tablespoon celery seeds, and 1 Tablespoon mustard seeds. Heat to boiling.
Add the drained vegetables and simmer for 10 minutes.
Hot pack into half-pint jars with 1/2 inch headspace.
Process in a boiling-water bath for 10 minutes.

YIELD: 7 half-pints
TASTE: I’m keeping my fingers crossed

EDITED TO ADD: I wrote this post before I had finished canning the relish (got to make the deadline, you know) and I have to say, I am not pleased with how this relish turned out. It is much more like pieces of vegetables floating in brine than an actual relish. Hopefully if will taste alright and we can salvage it but I even have my doubts about that.

5 Comments »

  1. This looks amazing! You have me craving a turkey sandwich with relish on it now… and it’s only 10 am here. ha!

  2. Stephanie said

    Your relish looks a lot like mine. I haven’t cracked any open yet but as soon as the jars were processed I wished I’d made a dill relish rather than a traditional relish which seems to have lots of sugar. I’m worried about the brine to veg ratio too. We’ll see.

    I did however make my first decent batch of dill pickle slices this year. Third time’s a charm I guess. I used a recipe from the Ball book.

  3. […] blueberry butter : 7 half-pints blue + black jam : 1 pint, 5 half-pints hot dog relish : 7 half-pints blackberry syrup : 1 half-pint apricot butter : 7 half-pints blackberry jam : 6 half-pints apricot […]

  4. […] blueberry butter : 7 half-pints blue + black jam : 1 pint, 5 half-pints hot dog relish : 7 half-pints blackberry syrup : 1 half-pint apricot butter : 7 half-pints blackberry jam : 6 half-pints apricot […]

  5. […] a few batches each year or some who are in as deep as we are. My friend Melissa caught wind of my pickle problem and sent me a recipe. I decided to slice the cukes into spears and really like how they look in the […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

