Apricot Butter

Last weekend I arrived home from the farmer’s market with two crates of apricots. A full bushel of those beautiful gems were stashed in the extra fridge for me to work through this week. I’m thinking we’ll do some jam, some preserves, some fruit leather, but first up was butter. I used Marisa‘s recipe again just using 8 cups of pureed apricots instead of blueberries. The smell in the crockpot was heavenly and took me back to something I ate as a child although I haven’t yet put my finger on just what it was. Apricots don’t cook down quite as much as blueberries so I had a little bit left to stash in the fridge.

207 :: 365

DATE: 07/26/2010
FRUIT: 8 cups pureed apricots
SOURCE: farmers market
COST: hard to know but probably about $10
RECIPE: Slow Cooker Blueberry Butter from Marisa at Food in Jars substituting apricot puree for the blueberry puree
YIELD: 7 half-pints and a little for the fridge
TASTE: delicious

Apricot Butter
7 Comments »

  1. redheadco said

    I’ve enjoyed making fruit butters in the crockpot since last summer. It’s soo much easier than standing over the hot stove for hours. I’m making large batches in my big crockpot, although it takes 9-11 hours for that much to cook down.

    Thanks for all the information on your blog.

    -the redhead-

  2. Marisa said

    I did the same thing right about the time I was working with the blueberries. Amazing, delicious stuff!

  3. […] pint, 5 half-pints hot dog relish : 7 half-pints blackberry syrup : 1 half-pint apricot butter : 7 half-pints blackberry jam : 6 half-pints apricot jam : 19 half-pints brandied apricots : 8 pints apricots : 8 […]

  4. […] pint, 5 half-pints hot dog relish : 7 half-pints blackberry syrup : 1 half-pint apricot butter : 7 half-pints blackberry jam : 6 half-pints apricot jam : 19 half-pints brandied apricots : 8 pints apricots : 8 […]

  5. […] toast. Last year though I was intrigued by Marisa‘s blueberry butter and gave it a go, making apricot and peach butters later in the summer as well. Turns out blueberry butter especially was a hot […]

  6. SONA krykolowich said

    i have frozen apricots in my deep freeze since for ever . do you think they will be any good????

  7. sonia krykolowich said

    do you think i could use fresh strawberries to make butter??? anyone try it yet..

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

