Blueberry Jam

I’m trying to be better this year about small batches. I have some gene in me that requires me to can like a nuclear apocalypse is imminent. I guess I figure why go to all the trouble — which if I’m honest is barely any trouble at all — to can only a few jars. While digging out from the apricots I noticed that I had almost two pints of blueberries wasting away in the fridge. I considered apricot-blueberry conserve of some sort but then remembered that I do know a few people who love plain old blueberry jam. The canning pot was already full and boiling with all those apricots so why not?

Aren't you glad I didn't say apricot?

DATE: 07/31/2010
FRUIT: 2 cups mashed blueberries
SOURCE: farmers market
COST: $9
RECIPE: I halved the pomona pectin recipe and added a teaspoon of dried lemon zest
YIELD: 2 half-pints and another quarter-pint in the fridge
TASTE: yummy

3 Comments »

  1. […] citrus jelly with ginger and honey : 7 quarter-pints carrot whiskey jam : 3 half-pints marmalade with rosemary : 2 half-pints pickled garlic : 5 three-quarter pints strawberry-rhubarb jam : 6 half-pints strawberrry-rhubarb compote : 7 quarter-pints strawberry jam : 10 half-pints cherry pie filling : 9 quarts cherry jelly : 14 half-pints blueberry butter : 7 half-pints blue + black jam : 1 pint, 5 half-pints hot dog relish : 7 half-pints blackberry syrup : 1 half-pint apricot butter : 7 half-pints blackberry jam : 6 half-pints apricot jam : 19 half-pints brandied apricots : 8 pints apricots : 8 pints apricot-rosemary jam : 10 quarter-pints blueberry jam : 2 half-pints […]

  2. melissa said

    do you have an asparagus steamer? that’s what I’ve been using for the small (teeny) batches.

  3. […] apricots : 8 pints apricots : 8 pints apricot-rosemary jam : 10 quarter-pints blueberry jam : 2 half-pints peach salsa : 7 pints raspberry jam : 16 half-pints razzleberry jam : 9 half-pints pasta sauce : 9 […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

