Pasta Sauce

The can-jam ingredient for August is tomatoes, but this pasta sauce is not for the can-jam. I’ll hopefully be making my can-jam contribution later today. This pasta sauce is basic and safe for water bath canning with the addition of lemon juice to each jar. Our freezer gets full at this time of year with frozen peppers, corn, and fruit so there isn’t much room for pasta sauce that’s not can-able. If you know anything about me you might have realized I am a bit crazy about eating in season and locally too. So that means if you want pasta bolognese in mid-winter you better have canned some sauce in late summer.

Tomatoes

DATE: 08/17/2009
FRUIT: half-bushel of celebrity tomatoes
SOURCE: CSA farm
COST: $30
RECIPE: Family Secret Tomato Sauce from Animal, Vegetable, Miracle
YIELD: 9 almost-quarts
TASTE: very good but basic, I doctor the sauce after I open the jar with things like garlic scape pesto, peppers, spinach, etc.

Pasta Sauce

A word about the jars I use for tomatoes. These atlas jars are recycled from store bought pasta sauce, a brand that a friend uses and that I used before we started canning pasta sauce. I wouldn’t generally recommend recycling jars in this way from say mayonnaise or something but these jars are true canning jars and to be honest, I like their square-ish shape. Additionally they contain 24 ounces, or three cups of sauce which is often the exact amount I need for a meal. I still process them as if they were quarts, adding two tablespoons of lemon juice to each jar and boiling them in the canner for 35 minutes.

3 Comments »

  1. […] Barbecue sauce was done, one round — I’ll do another round with the romas — of pasta sauce was done, ketchup was even done on a whim. Still, almost 8 pounds of tomatoes left. So I started […]

  2. […] peach salsa : 7 pints raspberry jam : 16 half-pints razzleberry jam : 9 half-pints pasta sauce : 9 quarts barbecue sauce : 12 pints ketchup : 3 pints fiesta soup : 4 quarts, 1 half-pint peach butter : 7 […]

  3. Angela said

    They do say “Mason” on them, which *supposedly* means they are safe to reuse, at least for boiling-water processing….

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

