Strawberry Rhubarb Jam

One of my childhood homes had an established rhubarb plant on the edge of the vegetable garden. It was there when we moved in. My parents don’t like rhubarb and would never have planted it. My grandparents though would come over and harvest it every Spring. I never had rhubarb and grew up thinking it must be gross, or at least only something for old people to eat. My husband on the other hand grew up with rhubarb — although now that I think of it his mother doesn’t make pie so I’ll have to ask what rhubarb concoction they ate — so last year I made a batch of strawberry rhubarb jam. It actually turned out better looking than the strawberry jam so most of it was given as gifts at the holidays but I did get to try some. It tasted just fine to me, and actually not that different from the plain strawberry.

This year Stefan said I could skip it if I wanted to. It turns out rhubarb, for him, was one of those things that lived more fully in memory than in reality. I get that, but I figured variety is the spice of life and in May there isn’t much to put in jars besides strawberries and rhubarb.

rhubarb

DATE: 05/28/2011
FRUIT: just over 1 quart strawberries and 1.5 pounds rhubarb
SOURCE: farmer’s market
RECIPE: on the sure-jell box
YIELD: 6 half-pints
TASTE: yummy

1 Comment »

  1. Kristy said

    There are some fantastic rhubarb recipes in Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving. A friend and I put up batches of the Rhubarb Orange Jam, Apple Rhubarb Chutney, Victorian Barbecue Sauce, and Stewed Rhubarb (which is great over home made vanilla ice cream).

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

