More Than a Peck of Pickles

Soaking Cucumbers

Sometimes when I’m canning I follow a recipe and get exactly 7 jars and process them and it’s magical.

Often when I’m canning I follow a formula and don’t sterilize enough jars so I have to run to the garage and get some more jars in the proper or preferred size and sterilize them quick.

Occasionally when I’m canning I follow a formula and totally run out of jars of the preferred size and then have to use jars of a different size but then realize if I use all those jars I won’t have enough jars for something else and then have to switch to another size jar and hope I have enough of those.

That kind of canning is called pickles.

Pickler

DATE: 08/01/2011
FRUIT: 1 bushel pickling cucumbers
SOURCE: farmer’s market
RECIPE: buttoned up pickles from my friend Melissa
YIELD: 19 quarts, 11 wide-mouthed pints, 5 regular pints

Leave a Reply

